Style Arc Sandra Narrow Leg Jean

Today I’m sharing my first pair of jeans.  The pattern I used was the Style Arc Sandra Narrow Leg Jean.

I actually made these jeans quite a while ago (back in 2013, to be exact), but I never got around to blogging about them.  Since I want to try making jeans again soon (in a slightly less crazy print), I thought now would be a good time to share these pants.

So, here are my crazy jeans:

DSC_0029_fotor

I found this fabric at Joann Fabrics a while back and immediately envisioned them as a pair of jeans (the lady at the cutting counter thought I was nuts).  I already had this pattern in my stash, so I thought I’d give it a try.

DSC_0030

The fit straight from the pattern was okay – I had to take the waist in a little and adjust the crotch curve a little.  Other than that, the fit was decent.  I still feel like the bottom area is a bit baggy and the fit overall is a little loose, but I think that has more to do with fabric choice (I used a stretch denim where the pattern called for non-stretch denim) than the pattern itself. I might try this pattern again in a non-stretch denim and see how it goes.  I like the style of these jeans, so I’d like to have a pair I would wear often (hate to say it, but these are not going to be my every day jeans!).

I do think they look kind of cute rolled up with flats, though.

DSC_0038

The instructions (as with any Style Arc pattern) were minimal.  Since this was my first pair of jeans, I had to look up some tutorials on how to put together jeans (especially the pockets, which I found very confusing), but it really wasn’t that hard, after I did a little research.  All of the inside seams are serged.  Overall, I think the end product turned out really well (fit issues aside).  I just bought the Sewing Designer Jeans class from Craftsy, so I’m looking forward to watching that and learning some new techniques.

3 thoughts on “Style Arc Sandra Narrow Leg Jean

  1. Rikki says:

    Fab jeans! I adore the print! I was amused thinking of the salespersons reaction when she heard what the intended project was;) The more muted black top is perfect with it:) I purchased a jeans making class also, but haven’t gotten around to making a pair yet, hopefully this year. Anyways, yours turned out really nice!:)

    Like

Leave a Reply

