Completed: Megan Nielsen Eucalypt Tanks

Today has been a really tough day for the family.

Instead of dealing with that right now, though, I’m going to focus on two finished items.

This was the first Megan Nielsen pattern I tried – the Eucalypt Tank pattern.  It’s a cute little tank top (or dress, though I haven’t tried that yet) and it whips up quite quickly, even with french seams.

DSC_0010_fotor

The first version was made using a cotton print from JoAnn Fabrics.  I made a straight size medium.  I did French seams throughout, and used bias binding for the neck and arm holes.  Overall, the fit is pretty good, though I’m not sure I love how the back looks on me.

DSC_0020_fotor

Fortunately, I mostly wear tank tops with cardigans, so I’m not too concerned about the back.

For the second version, I used a quilting cotton from Pacific Fabrics.

DSC_0051_fotor

Check out the cat peeking through the cat door…  That’s Bailey.  I have no idea why the old owners installed a cat door in the door to the upstairs bedroom.  But they did.  And Bailey can’t figure out how to use it, so he just sits on the other side and whines until someone opens the door for him.

Again, a straight size medium.  This one just doesn’t seem to fit as well as the pink one, despite making them in exactly the same way.  I think it must just be because this is a stiffer fabric than the other one.

I have a couple of other tank top patterns in my stash, so I’m going to keep trying to find that perfect wardrobe staple.

And here’s a bonus pic because this little guy didn’t want to be left out of the picture taking fun…

DSC_0047

Leave a Reply

