My new favorite dress pattern (Hey June Charleston)

I was flattered when Adrianna from Hey June Handmade asked me if I would test her upcoming Charleston Dress.  A knit dress with two skirts and seven (7!!!) sleeve options?!  How could I refuse?

I went in with pretty high expectations, thinking that the dress sounded pretty awesome.  And it did not disappoint!

12901320_10100667195337124_3889702086577819804_o

I made view a, sleeveless, in a size large.  I used a 1.5 inch hem, just because I’m short and I wanted a shorter skirt.

The fabric I used was a ponte from Pacific Fabrics. I need opinions on this fabric – I bought it thinking it was an animal print, but my husband thinks it’s camo.  Thoughts?

The directions, as per the usual with Adrianna’s patterns, made this an extremely easy to put together dress.  And quick!  I made this in one evening, taking my time and going very slowly to ensure that everything fit perfectly as I went.

Even the zipper was easy and quick!  And, while I don’t actually need the zipper, I love the design element – it makes for a more interesting back, which is fun.  Some of the other testers put in a colorful zipper and I love the way it pops!

12322780_10100667195352094_1650617655410437959_o

I will admit, I was pretty nervous putting a zipper in a knit dress.  I tried to put a zipper in a knit cardigan once, years ago, when I had less experience sewing with knits, and it was disastrous.  I hadn’t tried since, fearing that my fabric would get all stretched out and look terrible.  But it didn’t!

It helped that, this time, I used a more stable knit and a walking foot (love my built-in IDT on my Pfaff!), but there was no wonkiness at all.  The fit was great without any modifications, and I feel like it covers up my post-twins-baby-belly really well.  Overall, I’m really pleased with this dress.

I have my next version planned – a view b in a stretch lace that I’ve had for a couple of years, just waiting for the right project.  I think this is it!

3 thoughts on “My new favorite dress pattern (Hey June Charleston)

Leave a Reply

